Had I been in this audience, I would have been very tempted to throw a shoe.  Actually, it might have made me wish that I had a lovely steel-toed boot.  No standing ovation.  Certainly not two.  And hearing that speech would NOT have made me feel like I understood why we were at war.  Blah blah blah faith blah blah blah terrorism blah blah blah Christianity good blah blah blah Muslim bad blah blah blah. 

Just to be petty?  Islamic is not a language.  Also:

The lecture continued when Santorum pointed out what he thought were the main differences between Christians and Muslims. Santorum said Christians, who believe in Jesus Christ, never governed or conquered anyone, but Mohammed was a warrior and killed people.

REALLY? 

I sort of thought the entire definition of Manifest Destiny revolved around the idea that the United States was destined and divinely ordained by the God of Christianity to expand across the continent and has been frequently used to justify the slaughter of the Native Americans “in the way”. 

And uh, did I hallucinate learning about the Crusades?  They were essentially slaughter in the name of Christianity, yes? 

Also, I seem to recall that England considered itself a Christian nation when conquering for the sake of their empire.  And that Christianity was forced on a large number of people across the empire. 

I could keep going but really, must I?  While I agree that it’s horrid that most Americans have NO idea why we are fighting, why won’t Rick Santorum just GO AWAY? 

Jesse totally should never forward articles like this to me.  All they do is irritate me.