I feel like the only person who had to work today (minus all the people in my office, some of the delivery guys who showed up at our office today and people who work retail).  Perhaps what I should say is that I feel like one of the very few white collar employees who had to be in the office today.  To make it worse, next to none of our agents were in today so we wrote next to no business, meaning that we actually lost money by staying open today.  Also, it smells like sewage in our office.  Apparently the pipes in the suite nextdoor to us dried out and the stench has been infiltrating the surrounding suites for quite a while now.  I brought Lavender and Vanilla Febreze back with me after my lunch break and sprayed it around.  So far, everyone seems much happier. 

This weekend was lovely.  Jesse and I went back to Bonefish for Valentine’s Day.  Had a nice bottle of Reisling and a lovely dish of Imperial Longfin.  So, awesome fish stuffed with a creamy, cheesey mixture of scallops, crab and shrimp.  Yumm!  Not cholesterol-friendly but honestly?  I don’t care.  I don’t do this often.  Jesse took me to Anthropologie and bought me a couple of beautiful things (mustard-yellow brocade wrap skirt, light blue long cardigan with felted flowers around the collar and a pretty dark grey jersey cardigan).  We are such good clearance sale shoppers.  I bought him a dulce de leche cheesecake for his birthday and we broke into it early.  Even I had a tiny bite although I’m not a big cheesecake fan.  It was… delectable.  And evil.  Mostly delectable but definitely evil as well. 

Jesse’s birthday is coming up tomorrow.  Most of his presents made it on time but I think a few are going to be late.  A couple might be hung up over the Atlantic Ocean.  Thankfully he’s decided not to hold it against me.  For the piece de resistance, I am going to order Hold Steady tickets for us.  They’re playing here in April, I think, and it would be a ton of fun to see them. 

Not much else is going on here.  I’m about to embark on a major organizing-crusade.  I desperately need a haircut but am avoiding booking an appointment.  I need to suck it up and find a stylist rather than moping around missing Troy.  I just know that, no matter who I find, I’m not going to like them anywhere near as much as I like him.  I know it’s not at all cost-effective but I am SO tempted to fly back to Omaha just so I can get my hair cut at Fringes again.

