Driving back to work on our lunch break today we saw a girl when we were stuck at a light. She was younger than I am. She looked completely humiliated and terrified. She was carrying a sign that read: Laid Off. Behind on rent. Scared to be homeless. Anything would help. Please help.

Oy. And here I was this morning stressing about how my balance is going to go slightly under where I like it to be this pay period. Wishing I could go back to buying my seriously expensive moisturizer. Thinking about how it would be nice to be able to buy an espresso machine. And I know that someone else’s more bigger problems don’t make mine irrelevant… but sometimes they do make you look a bit more realistically at yourself. I hope she’s still there when we drive home so I can stop.

I just can’t even imagine what it must be like to be in that situation. To be so horrified at having to ask strangers to help and knowing that, no matter how much they give you, it’s not going to help for long enough to keep you safe. I have no idea who she is and I am so scared for her. I just hope she’s going to be okay.

