It’s another beautiful monday in the valley.  I’m not sure of the logic behind this, but the monday after a cold, windy weekend always seems to be the most beautiful, warmest, light-breeziest day.  It makes me dream of doing my job on a laptop, lying out in the grass.  Ugh, I wish!

We spent this weekend mostly relaxing, partly catching up on things we really ought to be doing.  We cleaned the heck out of the apartment, complete with me scrubbing floors and walls.  Everything looks quite nice now although the vacuum cleaner is still giving us fits.  We can usually manage one room before it overheats and goes off.  For the life of me, I don’t know what it’s problem is.  There’s no clog, at least, not one that we can find and we’ve taken that sucker apart within an inch of its life.  But it’s looking like we’re going to have to get another one.  It’s ridiculous, really.  Are appliances psychic?  Did my vacuum cleaner know that my tax refund is coming reasonably soon and decide that it needed a long sabbatical? 

We also toured and seriously contemplated an apartment complex this weekend.  It’s up north a bit, not too far, we’d be about 15-20 minutes away from work but could pretty easily hop on the freeway if we didn’t want to take back streets.  They’re cool with large-breed dogs, the community’s beautiful landscaped and shaded (hello, lower electric bills) and, frankly, a lot cheaper than where we are now.  We need to look at a few more places but we’re keeping this in mind.  Only problems are:

  • smaller kitchen, then again we wouldn’t have as much stuff
  • lower ceilings but we did see a ground-floor unit and we’d like a second-floor unit
  • smaller bathtub but I actually don’t take that many baths anyway, I’m more likely to hit the hot tub if I want a nice soak

Between looking at apartments and cleaning, we tried to do some relaxing by watching Blue Planet: The Tidal Seas.  I can’t wait to finish this series of documentaries!  I love this kind of stuff and the camera-work is truly amazing.  Plus the oceans are full of really weird creatures who do awesome things — bonus!

Also have probably made our first wedding-related purchase.  It’s just a little thing but it’s made me feel much more accomplished.  We got our guest book!  On sale at Anthropologie (duh), it has this fabulously textured heavy-weight paper — the cover is this beautiful light yellow fabric and it’s scattered with fabric and felt flowers in all sorts of colours.  I guess this means I’m heading away from a strict colour scheme which, frankly, is fine with me.  The last thing I want is to have a nightmare about the table runners not matching the napkin rings not matching the flowers not matching the charger plates.  I think this will be much more “us” and definitely an interesting design challenge.  We’ll see how it goes.

Now it’s back for another week and then… HIKING.  It’s time to head back up to Mt. Charleston!

