Still no Valley of Fire. Next weekend, next weekend. I swear, I am not going another year without getting to Valley of Fire before it’s too hot to handle. 

I did have a productive weekend however.  I baked my first loaf of bread.  The texture is a tiny bit heavier than I’d thought but I ran it past Crystal who said that I probably just need to make sure the water I add to the yeast is slightly warmer next time.  Either way it’s absolutely delicious.  Before baking I drizzled the top with really good olive oil, cracked black pepper, fresh rosemary and romano cheese.  It’s decadent but SO GOOD. 

This week I really need to get our outside storage unit organized.  As it is now, I’m paying for the whole thing but the only stuff in there is Mike’s.  This needs to change and I’m going to find a way to do so.  I mean, yes, I wanted the couch out of our apartment.  As a courtesy, so he didn’t have to buy a new one, I got the storage unit so we could get that ugly sofa that was dumped on us out of our third bedroom where it took up nearly the entire room.  So obviously I am getting SOME benefit from paying for it each month.  But I really can’t have the rest of the unit taken up with bikes.  Seriously, it’s getting ridiculous. 

Also, I learned this weekend that apparently, I am not allowed to have nice things in my current living situation.  Goodbye, beautiful bowl.  I’m glad I got to use you once before you developed a massive chip from having a large soup pot put on top of you to dry.  This is probably my reminder that I need to spell out EVERYTHING, no matter how common-sense it seems.  Of course, I’ll never be able to do that as I doubt I could figure out exactly how to explain things that I find to be common sense without coming off as extremely condescending.  Probably better just to make sure nothing nice gets used at this point.  But seriously, what kind of an excuse is “well, I didn’t KNOW it was going to do that”?  A crappy one, in my mind.  So unless you know without a doubt that doing something will be a bad idea, you shouldn’t do it?  An apology at least would seem required.  Ah well.

I don’t know.  I really, really, really, really want to get outside and do something.  I’m getting really antsy inside, doomed to baking bread and cupcakes.  And updating a daintier life.  Check it out.

