Well, the lovely Marina certainly gave me something to think about camera-wise.  Seriously, go check out her blog, her adorable son and her beautiful photographs.  I’m definitely going to keep the Digital Rebel line in mind while I do my research.  Of course I can’t promise that I won’t snatch up a 50D or 5D if Circuit City actually gets around to liquidating (personally, I don’t consider 10% off much of a liquidation but what do I know?) but now I know that I have far more options available to me. 

Here’s something that I thought I should recommend to all of my readers.  The Teaching Company.  Go!  Lust!  Dream!  Jesse and I are currently working through a course called How to Listen to and Understand Great Music done by Professor Robert Greenberg of U.C. Berkeley, courtesy of my wonderful father.  It is an amazing course.  Seriously.  I haven’t felt this passionate about music since I attended summer courses at Interlochen years ago.  Of course, it’s going to be a little while until we’re done with the course but I’m looking forward to every moment of it. 

On the subject about feeling more passionate about music, I actually dragged out my guitar last night, tuned it and spent a while fingerpicking arpeggios and strumming chords.  This time I’ve promised myself that I won’t wimp out when it hurts.  Just because it takes me forever to build callouses doesn’t mean I can’t learn to love playing. 

Today is a great day for change for obvious reasons.  I’ve decided to make it the beginning of a lot of personal change as well.  Here’s to our success – yours, President Obama’s and mine.  Congratulations for making it this far, wherever you currently are and my best wishes for the rest of your journey.  We can all do it.

