I’ve noticed that a lot of my blog-friends have been posting New Years Resolutions lists. I’m starting to feel a little bit left out. The problem is that I don’t really do resolutions in the sense that I don’t sit down and write out a list of goals that I must achieve or things I must do. I’m more of a “these things about myself drive me nuts and I need to change them” kind of girl. With that in mind, this is what I’m working on this year:

  1. Take better care of my teeth.  To that end, I am going to get myself a Sonicare toothbrush which I have been assured are practically godly.  This also means that I will have to start flossing on a very regular basis.  Damn it. 
  2. Eat better.  This is mostly an effort to get myself to cook more and to learn how to cook better.  So, try more recipes, work on my presentation and quit eating crackers and hummus for dinner so often.
  3. Get out and do things more often rather than making excuses.  The house work can wait.  Hike more.  Travel more.  Explore more.  Go to more meetups.  Get involved with projects and volunteer work. 
  4. Explore my creativity.  Write more poetry and short stories.  Keep working on my sketching and watercolours.  Spend more time playing the piano and guitar.  Really seriously learn to knit and crochet.  Sew more often. 

My classes start tomorrow and I’m pretty excited about them.  I’m taking Spanish (yay, new language!) and Nevada History, a requirement for any college student in this state.  Hopefully within the next semester or two I will be able to switch to UNLV.  Of course, that doesn’t solve my problem of what, exactly, to major in.  English Lit does seem to be a safe, obvious choice for me but really?  In this economy? 

Ah well.  If I could start all over again, I would seriously consider being a photography major.  Still, it’s never too late!  I’m thinking of spending the money on a good (and also, expensive) DSLR camera.  Like, the Canon EOS 50D or the Canon 5D.  And then I am thinking of taking classes and going to meetups and begging everyone I know who’s an excellent photographer for tips.  At this point I don’t know what I am going to do with this knowledge but… I want it to work some day.  I love being in front of the camera but more and more, I am loving being behind the lens.  I like angles, interesting and unexpected angles.  I love the wide expanses of open desert and the decay of abandoned towns.  I love capturing the wind racing across this state. 

Am I being ridiculous about this?  I know it’s a lot of money.  Trust me, I know.  But I have the money.  And it’s not like we’re saving for a down payment for a house out here (at least, we’re not at this point).  It’s something that I’ve really wanted for a long time and it’s something I think I could be really good at.  And yet, I’m second-guessing myself.  I don’t want to be financially irresponsible and I’m terrified that this would qualify as such.

