I may have to drug my fiance on Christmas Eve .

I realize that may sound cruel and unnecessary.  I will, however, hold up a few points of evidence in my defense.

  1. He has already TOLD me that I may need to drug him.
  2. This morning he woke up at the first alarm and, instead of rolling over and going back to sleep, he was awake until the second alarm thinking of Christmas and presents.
  3. Allegedly, he has a history of waking his parents up WAY too early on Christmas morning.  As a teenager.
  4. I get cranky without sleep.  It’s probably better for all of us if I’m not kept awake by a boy asking if we can go open presents yet.

Oy! 

This is our little Christmas-setup this year.  My mom sent me one of her beautiful sewn wreaths (unfortunately not pictured) and one of her sewn Christmas trees, a few candles and other little things.  That huge angel on top of the tree makes me smile nearly every time I see it.  And yes, they’re all on my VERY BLUE! table along with a bunch of random things.  See that Evian bottle cap to the left?  The petals of my hydrangea?  The DVD spindles and the handle of my purse?  Oh dear.  One day I will actually take photography seriously but this is not that day.

This weekend we mostly ran errands and spent more money.  Ah well, it’s not like every Christmas is going to be like this.  This year is sort of special.  All three of us have managed not to kill each other through the run of our first lease.  Here’s to another lease with no homicide!  Personally, I know that Jesse has spoiled me absolutely rotten.  Please feel free to bring me back to reality any time!  Our present corner is pretty stuffed.  Thankfully, at this point we’re done except for stockings and those have been started.  I have the outside pieces all cut up and ready to sew together tonight.  I do need to fiddle with my lining pattern and cut those pieces but that shouldn’t take too long.  I don’t quite know what I’m going to do about names yet.  I can’t find my electric scissors (AGAIN, I don’t know where those things get to) so the idea of cutting out letters with my dull, manual scissors sounds horrid.  At least they’re all different patterns so we can tell them apart even without names. 

Other than that I don’t have much to report.  We only have two and a half work days until Christmas Eve as we get out early on Wednesday.  Then we get Christmas Day and the day after Christmas off.  We’re planning to go to Red Rock on the day after Christmas.  I’ll be making my seriously decadent macaroni-and-cheese and a pork roast for the boys.  I’m not quite sure what I’ll make for myself yet but I might just keep it simple as I don’t want to spend the day cooking.

What’s going on in your lives?

