Not Christmas.  I know the line should include Christmas rather than winter but I admit, I’m having a bit of trouble getting into the holiday spirit this year.  I’ve already bought some stocking stuffers and presents but… I don’t know what it is.  Maybe it’s just that palm trees look so strange to me when they’re strung with blinking lights.  Maybe it’s that we don’t have any place for a tree and wouldn’t spend the money on one this year even if we did have the space.  Maybe it’s that I really have no idea what we’re going to do when we wake up on Christmas morning. 

I miss some of our little traditions.  I don’t have the tape of Christmas Looney Tunes to watch on Christmas Eve although I may be able to find it on Netflix and rent it.  We don’t have any Christmas decorations to put up — no columns to wrap greenery around, no big wreath for the door, no little wreaths for inside (my mom made some beautiful fabric wreaths out of quilting cotton).  I’m sure part of it is that I’m a bit intimidated at the prospect of creating my own traditions with Jesse.  I don’t want to put too much emphasis on it but I think it’s nice to have things that you anticipate throughout the holiday season. 

So far?  Christmas is just expensive.  That is probably mostly my fault.  For my first Christmas away from my parents and with a new family, I’m probably focusing too much on making it a “good Christmas”.  I’m just hoping that we can do a few things to get in the spirit.  Maybe go down to the gardens which are supposed to be decorated or something. 

Either way, it was probably in the low-40s when we walked out the door to go to work this morning.  While it’s not particularly Christmassy, it did feel really nice.  I’m hoping it will be just this nice when we go hiking this weekend.  It’s a toss-up between going back to Mojave and hiking in Red Rock.  Either one would be lovely, I’m sure!

So, what are your Christmas traditions?  What can’t you do without?

