I had my mid-year performance review today.  The result?  LOLZ U R FIRED.  No, guys, I’m kidding!  The urge to pretend to be a LOLcat was just too strong for a moment there (that should give you an idea of what kind of week I’ve been having). 

What I found out at my performance review is that I’m doing a very good job but my supervisor thinks my regions may be a bit too busy.  Apparently, I didn’t just get a new region (6) but had several areas added to one of my other regions.  Those areas include San Francisco and Sonoma county.  I don’t want to get rid of them necessarily as just thinking about Sonoma sends me on a mini-vacation but I admit that it’s hard to keep up.  We’re going to look at my workload again in a few months and if it’s still as busy as it is right now, I may get rid of a county or two.  My main goal for this next half of the year is to keep my task queue under 200 except for our extremely busy periods where it’s okay for it to creep up.  I think this is doable and this finally assuaged my fears of not being good enough for my job.  I’m doing fine, I’m learning, I’m asking questions and this is going to work out. 

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about family.  For as long as I can remember I’ve been told that you can choose your family, you’re not just stuck with the people you’re blood related to.  I think it’s only been in the last year or two that I’ve really understood what that means.  Looking back at the people I’ve known my whole life I feel extremely lucky to have met so many people that I consider my family but I’m especially lucky that I would choose my biological family.  If I had to sit down and make a list right now they would all be on that list.  I know that there are quite a few people who couldn’t say that and I realize now, especially lately, that I am extremely blessed. 

It’s been a busy, hard and unpredictable few weeks.  Last night, to make up for it, I tried to do a little online retail therapy at Anthropologie.  They finally put this BEAUTIFUL cotton & linen cardigan on sale, one that I’ve been lusting after for AGES.  I put in my order, it was confirmed and I went to sleep, dreaming of lovely things (and milkshakes, for some weird reason).  This morning?  I woke up to an email telling me that they’d cancelled my order.  Apparently it was out of stock.  Personally, I think it would have been nice to know before they actually confirmed that my order would be going out, but whatever.  I was looking forward to some retail therapy though!  Maybe I’ll just have to relax with a few home improvement projects instead.

This entry is so scattered!  Even I’m almost amazed at the weird little leaps I’m making.

Next up?  I think you should know that I am thrilled by the fact that Trader Joe’s has frozen calamari (just the rings, not the tentacles unfortunately) in their frozen section!  I made myself some homemade noodle soup last night with lots of garlic and ginger, a miso broth, rice stick noodles and calamari and baby bok choy lightly sauteed in a garlic black bean sauce. 

I don’t know.  I feel more than bit scattered today, stretched a little bit thin.  Maybe it’s just that it feels hotter than usual even though it isn’t.  There’s just a lot going on right now.  Much of it is tedious but some of it?  Some of it is pretty exciting.  Right now though, it’s time to go home and jump right in the pool.  Just the thought of all of that crisp, refreshing water makes me extremely glad that this is my life right now.

