I forgot to post my Friday Fill-In yesterday (and the week before, but let’s not talk about that)!

1. For me watching television is the opposite of creativity.
2. The Double Helix by James D. Watson was the last excellent book I read.
3. I like fill-ins because they give me a specific prompt that doesn’t take long to write.
4. In nature I like looking at bright red rock formations, flowering canyons, waterfalls and dense, thick forests.
5. I have no idea who should win the US elections.
6. The last time I laughed with all my belly was yesterday at work.  I forget exactly what my co-workers were talking about but it was hilarious.
7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to trying a couple of new recipes, tomorrow my plans include absolutely nothing but we’ll make it fun anyway and Sunday, I want to get out of the apartment and take some pictures!

So, speaking of new recipes, the two I tried out last night actually makes me wish I wrote a food blog.  Also, that I had a better camera now so I could actually take decent pictures of the food I cook and the bentos I make. I’ve been browsing around on Tastespotting for about the past week, typing in ingredients, getting REALLY hungry, and dreaming of all the things I want to learn how to do.  Anyway, last night I started off simply with two recipes I found — curried baked tofu fries and Syrian red lentil soup.

I got a bit lazy with the rest of the meal so the curried tofu fries are served alongside a storebought Boca burger with a dijon mustard swirl and fresh basil leaves and toasted mini pitas.

Now, we get to my favourite part of meal — predictable as soup is nearly always my favourite part of a meal.  The Syrian red lentil soup was absolutely amazing and I am thrilled to have leftovers in the fridge.  Mom, if you see this entry, you should definitely add this to your recipe collection.  Here, it’s topped with fresh cilantro, a dash of cayenne pepper and drizzled with lemon juice.

I’d almost forgotten how much I love cooking.  Or at least, I’d forgotten how much better I feel when I actually cook real meals.  I think this is going to mean a big change in our household, at least for me.  I think I’ll keep working my way through my gigantic list of recipes, hopefully honing my skills a bit.  Anyone want to come over for dinner?

Today we’ve got a few errands to run and Jesse and I are going to go on an evening picnic.  That means, of course, that I get to whip up a couple more things for us.  I think I might try to do a bit of sewing as well but otherwise, we have the whole day before us.

